Connect with us


Senegal’s women’s basketball team announces squad for Women’s Afrobasket

Published on

Cheikh Sarr, the coach of Senegal’s national women’s basketball team, released the list of 12 players selected for Africa’s Women Basketball Championship.

Sarr released the names on Tuesday, 6 August 2019, in Dakar and the champion is set to take place from 10 to 18 August 2019 at the Dakar Arena in Diamniadio, in the outskirts of Dakar, Senegal’s capital.

The players were selected from a group of 15 that the coach selected from an international tournament in Dakar between 3 and 5 August 2019.

At the end of that competition, which served as warm-up for the team ahead of the Afrobasket,

the Lionesses gave a clear message to the other participating teams in the tourney, by beating in a row, Cote d’Ivoire (70-61), Angola (88- 69) and Egypt (100-58).

Before the opening of the Women’s Afrobasket 2019 Championship, Coach Sarr decided to drop

Ndeye Khady Dieng, Mathilde Aicha Diop and Ndeye Thiama Camara, from the team. The three players had been on his shortlist.

Senegal, which is hosting the competition, is in Group A with Egypt and Cote d’Ivoire.

The African Silver medallists are aiming to recover the crown they lost to Nigeria during the previous edition.

The team list of 12 selected Lionesses consists of:

Point guards: Bintou Dieme, Mame Diodio Diouf.

Shooting guards: Yacine Diop, Ndèye Sene.

Small forwards: Lala Wone, Lena Niang.

Power forwards: Astou Traore, Mame Marie Sy, Coumba Sarr.

Centers: Fatou Diagne, Maimouna Diarra, Aida Fall.




error: Copyrighted Content