Connect with us

South Africa

Ramaphosa appoints 28 ministers – more women and youth in cabinet

Published on

President Cyril Ramaphosa announced his cabinet which, compared to past cabinets, sees more women and young people appointed as ministers.

On Wednesday evening, 29 May 2019, President Cyril Ramaphosa took to the national broadcaster to announce the cabinet that would support him in his promise of making South Africa a better country for all. Upon his announcement, it was learnt that 50 percent of Ramaphosa’s cabinet is made up of women, with a significant number of young people and a generational transition aimed at rejuvenating national government. He also made a significant cut on the number of ministers appointed, downsizing from a cabinet of 36 to 28.

In appointing his new national executive, Ramaphosa said he had taken a number of things into consideration, among others, a generational mix. He also lived up to expectations that his cabinet would be dominated by women.

As a result, he brought in young leaders such as Njabulo Nzuza, the secretary general of the African National Congress Youth League (ANCYL) and former leaders Ronald Lamola and Zizi Kodwa. Among the women he appointed are Bavelile Hlongwa, Barbara Creecy, Boitumelo Moloi, Thembi Siweya, Rosemary Capa, Nomafu Cawe, Nomalungelo Gina and Dikeledi Magadzi.

The president surprised the masses when he announced that Patricia de Lille would be the incumbent Minister of Public Works and Infrastructure. He also made changes to the departments, merging the Trade and Industry and Economic Development departments. Higher Education and Training has been merged with Science and Technology. Environmental Affairs has combined with Forestry and Fisheries. Agriculture and Land Reform and Rural Development are now one ministry. Telecommunications and Communications had previously been combined.

“We have also decided to add other responsibilities to other departments. In the case of public works, we decided to add infrastructure development,” said Ramaphosa. “In the case of labour, we decided to add employment so that we demonstrate our country is on the way to creating jobs, so it will be called the ministry of employment and labour.”

Below is the complete list of the appointments:

Deputy president: David Mabuza.

Agriculture, land reform and rural development: Thoko Didiza, with the two deputies being S’dumo Dlamini and Mcebisi Skwatsha.

Basic Education: Angie Motshekga. Deputy: Regina Mhaule.

Communications: Stella Ndabeni-Abrahams. Deputy: Pinky Kekana.

Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs: Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma. Deputies: Parks Tau and Obed Bapela.

Defence and Military Veterans: Nosiviwe Mapisa-Nqakula. Deputy: Thabang Makwetla.

Environment, Forestry and Fisheries: Barbara Creecy. Deputy: Maggie Sotyu.

Employment and Labour: Thulas Nxesi. Deputy: Boitumelo Moloi.

Finance: Tito Mboweni. Deputy: David Masondo.

Health: Zweli Mkhize. Deputy: Joe Phaahla.

Public Works and Infrastructure: Patricia de Lille. Deputy: Noxolo Kiviet.

Higher Education, Science and Technology: Blade Nzimande. Deputy: Buti Manamela.

Home Affairs: Aaron Motsoaledi. Deputy: Njabulo Nzuza.

Human Settlements, Water and Sanitation: Lindiwe Sisulu. Deputies: Pam Tshwete and David Mahlobo.

International Relations: Naledi Pandor. Deputies: Alvin Botes and Candith Mashego-Dlamini.

Justice and Correctional Services: Ronald Lamola. Deputies: John Jeffery and Inkosi Phathekile Holomisa.

Mineral Resources and Energy: Gwede Mantashe. Deputy: Bavelile Hlongwa.

Police: Bheki Cele. Deputy: Cassel Mathale.

Minister in the Presidency: Jackson Mthembu. Deputy: Thembi Siweya.

Minister in the Presidency for Women, Youth and Persons with Disabilities: Maite Nkoana-Mashabane. Deputy: Hlengiwe Mkhize.

Public Enterprises: Pravin Gordhan. Deputy: Phumulo Masualle.

Public Service and Administration: Senzo Mchunu. Deputy: Sindy Chikunga.

Small Business Development: Khumbudzo Ntshavheni. Deputy: Rosemary Capa.

Social Development: Lindiwe Zulu. Deputy: Henrietta Bogopane-Zulu.

Sports, Arts and Culture: Nathi Mthethwa. Deputy: Nocawe Mafu.

State Security: Ayanda Dlodlo: Deputy: Zizi Kodwa.

Tourism: Nkhensani Kubayi-Ngubane. Deputy: Fish Mahlalela.

Trade and Industry: Ebrahim Patel. Deputies: Fikile Majola and Nomalungelo Gina.

Transport: Fikile Mbalula. Deputy: Dikeledi Magadzi.

Abenathi Gqomo

error: Copyrighted Content