Connect with us


PSL announces date for Telkom Knockout Cup draw

Published on

The Premier Soccer League has confirmed the draw date for the 2018 Telkom Knockout Cup as Monday, 8 October 2018.

With the MTN8 Cup completed last weekend, the second of the PSL’s three cup competitions, the Telkom Knockout tournament, will follow later this spring.

“The 2018/19 Telkom Knockout last 16 draw will be conducted on Monday evening, 08 October 2018 LIVE from 19h30,” the PSL said in a press release.


The league has also confirmed the procedure of the draw, including big and small club seeds:

The Draw Procedure:

  1. Three bowls will be used for the draw (labelled: Pot A, B, C).
  2. The first bowl (Pot A) will contain the seeded eight clubs – (clubs that finished inside the Absa Premiership top eight during the 2017/18 season).
  3. The second bowl (Pot C) will contain the names of the other eight clubs.
  4. The third bowl (Pot B) will be empty – to be used to determine home and away.

How the draw will work:

  1. Telkom will draw a ball from the seeded bowl (Pot A) and place it in the empty bowl (Pot B) without opening it.
  2. Telkom will draw a ball from the unseeded bowl (Pot C) and place it in the empty bowl (Pot B) without opening it.
  3. Telkom will then draw go to Pot B and draw the first ball for home, the second ball for away.

Seeded teams:

Mamelodi Sundowns, Orlando Pirates, Kaizer Chiefs, Maritzburg United, Cape Town City, Free State Stars, SuperSport United and Lamontville Golden Arrows.

Unseeded teams:

AmaZulu FC, Chippa United, Bloemfontein Celtic, Polokwane City, Bidvest Wits, Baroka FC, Highlands Park and Black Leopards.

The competition is set to begin on the weekend of 20-21 October 2018.

Siseko Gwegwe
[email protected]

error: Copyrighted Content