Connect with us


Political parties in Ghana renounce the new 2020 voters register

Published on

It was reported on Tuesday, 7 January 2020 that six opposition political parties in Ghana have vehemently rejected the decision of the Electoral Commission (EC) to compile a new voters register ahead of the 2020 general elections scheduled for December.

These parties consist of the National Democratic Congress (NDC), People’s National Convention (PNC), All People’s Congress (APC), the United Front Party (UFP), Eagle Party (EP) as well as the United Progressive Party (UPP).

These political groups claimed that the move by the EC was not only a drain on the national coffers, but that it is also a threat to peaceful elections.

The six parties have formed what they have termed the Interparty Resistance Against the New Voters Register (IPRAN) and have threatened to embark on massive demonstrations across the length and breadth of the country in order to back their demand.

Speaking at a press conference in Accra on Monday, the leader of the APC, Hassan Ayariga, accused the EC of acting in bad faith and lack of transparency by proceeding with the procurement process for the new voters register without necessary consultation and engagement with key stakeholders.

Ayariga pointed out that peaceful and successful elections depend on the involvement of all key stakeholders and sidelining major players would not augur well for peaceful elections.

In a sharp response, the Senior Minister, Mr. Yaw Osafo Marfo, urged Ghanaians to ignore the agitations of the six parties and go to the relevant centres to register when the EC opens up in April so that they can vote to retain incumbent President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo Addo in power.




error: Copyrighted Content