Connect with us


Liberian ambassador appointed as AU Chairman in Brussels

Published on

On Wednesday, 4 March 2020, the Head of the Liberian Delegation to the Permanent Mission of the African Union, Dr. Isaac W. Nyenabo, was appointed Chairman for a three months period on a rotational basis of the African Group of Ambassadors commonly called the Group of African Ambassadors Brussels (GAAB).

The three-month tenure of Ambassador Nyenabo commences on 4 March 2020 and ends on 4 June 2020, with Algeria, Cameroon, Kenya, Lesotho, Libya, São Tomé and Príncipe, South Africa, Togo, Uganda serving as Vice-Chairpersons of the Bureau of African Ambassadors.

According to a dispatch from Brussels, Nyenabo is replacing his Kenyan counterpart, Joshua MUGODO, whose tour of duty as Chair of the group came to end during the last term.

The incoming Chairman will consider the outcomes of the 33rd Summit of the African Union held in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia, from 6-10 February 2020; issues concerning the next AU-EU Ministerial meeting in Kigali (10th College-to-College) report, State of play on the ACP-EU Post-2020 Cotonou negotiations (African Regional Protocol), preparation for the upcoming celebration of Africa Day 2020 and the European Development Days.

In his remarks, Ambassador Nyenabo expressed warm appreciation and gratitude to the 55 member states of the African Union in Brussels for the opportunity given him to serve as Chair of the Group.

He assured his colleagues of Liberian President George Manneh Weah’s commitment to multilateralism, regional integration, effective solidarity, and promotion of peace.

In his remarks, the outgoing Chairman, Joshua MUGODO congratulated Ambassador Nyenabo on his ascendancy and presented the activity report of GAAB for the period he served.

The African Group of Ambassadors comprises of all diplomatic Missions of all AU Member States accredited to Brussels.


Copyright © 2021 Political Analysis South Africa

error: Copyrighted Content