Connect with us


Jeff Radebe and Siyabonga Cwele latest MPs to resign

Published on

Former ministers Jeff Radebe and Siyabonga Cwele are reportedly the latest individuals to resign as African National Congress (ANC) Members of Parliament (MPs). 

On Monday, 10 June 2019, former minister of Energy Jeff Radebe, alongside former minister of Home Affairs Siyabonga Cwele tendered in their official resignations as MPs. Parliamentary spokesperson Moloto Mothapo confirmed the news and paid tribute to Radebe.

“Mr Jeffrey Thamsanqa Radebe bows out of National Assembly after 25 years: Minister: Public Works 1994-1999.  Minister: Public Enterprises 1999-2004 Minister: Transport 2004-2009. Minister: Justice and [Constitutional Development] 2009-2014. Minister: Presidency 2014-2018. Minister: Energy 2018-2019,” wrote Mothapo.

Although the duo did not furnish the reasons for their departure, there is a strong sense that their departure follows their non-inclusion in President Cyril Ramaphosa’s newly-elected cabinet. Just last week, it was announced that former Minister of Social Development, Susan Shabangu; Nomaindia Mfeketo, who is the former Minister of Human Settlements; Dipuo Letsatsi-Duba, the former Minister of State Security and Tokozile Xasa, the former Minister of Sport and Recreation, had all filed their resignations with immediate effect.

In a statement released on Friday, 7 June 2019, ANC chief whip Pemmy Majodina announced the resignation of Xasa, saying: “Comrade Xasa’s resignation is effective from today. Comrade Xasa will be replaced by comrade Judy Hermans on the national-to-national list, while comrade Makhosini Nkosi was replaced by comrade Lindiwe Mjobo on the provice-to-province list of KawZulu-Natal. Comrade Hermans will therefore still be sworn in on Monday with the rest of the other comrades who are scheduled to take up seats in the National Assembly.”

However, about six new ANC MPs are expected to be sworn in today, 10 June 2019, to fill the vacancies that are a result of some former cabinet ministers and ANC members not taking up their seats.

Abenathi Gqomo

error: Copyrighted Content