Connect with us


Dlamini-Zuma gazettes date for municipal elections

Published on

National CoGTA has announced that Minister Dlamini-Zuma officially gazetted the date of the upcoming local government elections as Monday, 1 November 2021, with the statistics to follow soon.

On Monday, 20 September 2021, the Department of Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs (CoGTA) announced that Minister Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma has gazetted the date of the 2021 local government elections. The department also released the minister’s statement on the matter of the set date.

Dlamini-Zuma has gazetted the election date as Monday, 1 November 2021, which will be the sixth municipal elections held in South Africa since the end of apartheid in 1994. The gazette is confirmed to have been done as per section 159 of the Constitution, which prescribes that at the end of a five-year term of local government, elections should be held within a 90-day period.

Dlamini-Zuma stated, “With the gazetting done, our actions have thus far proved true our noble intentions to keep the flame of democracy burning by voting on 1 November 2021.” Dlamini-Zuma also confirmed that the statistics will be released by the Independent Electoral Commission (IEC).

See the post below.

Why does the minister need to gazette the election date?

Minister Dlamini-Zuma is expected to gazette the election date to ensure compliance with statutory and constitutional obligations. The gazette is therefore done as per section 159 of the Constitution, read with the Municipal Structures Act, calling for elections every five years.

What has the minister had to say about the gazetting of the election date?

Dlamini-Zuma stated that with the gazetting now finalised, South Africa can now look towards the day of voting on Monday, 1 November 2021, noting how the numbers of citizens having registered to vote are encouraging.

What will happen once the election results are all confirmed?

According to the Minister of CoGTA, once the election results are confirmed, councils for all 48 districts, eight metropolitan and 205 local municipalities in each of the country’s nine provinces will officially be elected to locally lead.

Mahlohonolo Lakaje
[email protected]


Copyright © 2021 Political Analysis South Africa

error: Copyrighted Content