Connect with us


Cyril Ramaphosa finally appoints eight persons to fill SABC Board

Published on

President Cyril Ramaphosa has finally appointed eight individuals who are set to fill the open spots on the SABC Board.

On Friday, 12 April 2019, President Cyril Ramaphosa announced the names of the eight individuals that he has appointed to fill the open positions on the Board of the South African Broadcasting Corporation (SABC), following recommendations made by the National Assembly.

The presidency said in a statement, “In terms of Section 13 of the Broadcasting Act (Act 4 of 1999), non-executive members of the SABC Board must be appointed by the president on the advice of the National Assembly following a process of public participation in the nomination and transparency and openness in the selection.

“The National Assembly has communicated to the president the exhaustive public consultation process that was followed by the Portfolio Committee on Communications in accordance with the requirements set out in the Broadcasting Act.”

The eight individuals appointed are Mary Papayya, Jasmine Patel, Dr Marcia Socikwa, Mamodupi Mohlala-Mulaudzi, Bernedette Muthian, Advocate Benjamin Motshedi Lekalakala, Professor Sathasivan Cooper and David Maimela. Ramaphosa further appointed Mohlala-Mulaudzi as Deputy Chairperson of the SABC Board. The eight individuals’ tenure will begin immediately and they will be serving the unexpired term of the members who resigned from the Board, set to expire on 15 October 2022.

“Viewed collectively, the board of the SABC is composed of people who possess qualifications, skills, experience, and expertise across a broad spectrum of relevant fields including, but not limited to, governance and business practice, law, broadcasting policy and regulation, journalism, and communications amongst others,” Ramaphosa said.

The president wished the new board members well in their efforts to secure the sustainability of the SABC, noting that it was an important component of national life and of the deepening of democratic engagement in the country.

Abenathi Gqomo
[email protected]


error: Copyrighted Content