Connect with us


Comments extended for re-demarcation of Matatiele and Ba-Ga Mothibi

Comments extended for re-demarcation of Matatiele and Ba-Ga Mothibi

The South African Department of Justice and Constitutional Development has extended the comment period or public participation, for a notice published by Minister Michael Masutha on the proposed amendment to the South African constitution, in order to allow for the “redetermination of the geographical areas of the provinces of the Eastern Cape, KwaZulu-Natal, the North West and the Northern Cape.”

The notice, initially published in government gazette No. 41276, proposes that Matatiele Local Municipality be re-determined from the Alfred Nzo District Municipality in the Eastern Cape Province to Harry Gwala District Municipality in the KwaZulu-Natal Province, and that Ba-Ga Mothibi be re-demarcated from Greater Taung Local Municipality in the North West Province to Phokwane Local Municipality in the Northern Cape Province.

The change of provincial boundaries in South Africa requires a constitutional amendment, with the threshold for passage set at two-thirds at the National Assembly, and six provinces at the National Council of Provinces.

Both Matatiele and Ba-Ga Mothibi have been the subjects of political contestation and bargaining, with the residents and traditional authorities in these areas wishing to be relocated to neigbouring provinces because of perceived service delivery differences across provinces, and historical connections to the proposed provinces.

Affected or interested parties who initially had until 28 February 2018 to submit the comments, can now do so until 31 March 2018 by emailing the following department officials: T Skhosana ( or E Steyn (


Most Popular