Connect with us


Botswana 38th country to sign up to APRM

Published on

Botswana main opposition calls bluff on President Masisi’s alleged assassination attempt

Botswana has acceded to the Africa Peer Review Mechanism (APRM) becoming the 38th country on the continent to sign up to the instrument.

The decision was made by President Mokgweetsi Masisi, at the African Union High Level Dialogue taking place in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia on Wednesday, 28 November 2018.

President Masisi announced that his country will accede to the APRM without delay.

Introduced in 2003, the APRM is a mutually agreed instrument to which member nations of the African Union voluntarily signed up as a self-monitoring mechanism to encourage conformity with political, economic and corporate governance values, codes and standards, among member countries.

Some of the AU’s 36 members that signed up to the MOU establishing the APRM are Ghana, Kenya, Mozambique, Senegal, Ethiopia, Algeria, Rwanda, Uganda, Burkina Faso, Egypt, Malawi, Mauritius, Sierra Leone and Tanzania.

Before Botswana, The Gambia was its newest member, after acceding to the APRM last January, signaling a shift from the policies of the past under Yahya Jammeh when the country had overlooked joining such a mechanism for more than a decade.

Jammeh who lost power in 2016, had ignored repeated calls to sign up to the APRM, not seeing it as a priority by his government.



error: Copyrighted Content